COTTON CANDY: Pink Ombre Glitter Nail Tutorial

Image

Hi Guys!!! So today I will be doing a tutorial on the nail look above. All of the nail polishes I’ll be using is from OPI, but you can use any nail polishes that you like 🙂 You can also do this with any colour in the same ombre glitter way, I just chose to do it in pink because I had the resources available. Along the way, I’ll also but a mini-review of the nail polishes that I used. Also, please request anything you’d like to see in the comments section below.

I’ve seen so many tutorials online, and all of them seem to use glitter powder or something which I think is quite unaccessible and I feel this way is a lot easier and better haha.

Image

Nail Polishes from Left to Right:

OPI Natural Nail Base Coat, Suze and the Lifeguard, Princess Rule, Teenage Dream, RapiDry Top Coat

Image

I ALWAYS ALWAYS apply a base coat to protect my nails from the chemicals in the coloured polishes more and this one is my favourite. So I apply one coat of it onto all of my nails and let that dry before moving on. (As you can see, I’ve used this Base Coat so so much and there’s only like 1/3 left. 😥 )

Image

Okay, so this is my plain pink, that doesn’t really have shimmer/glitter in it. It’s calles Suze and the Lifeguard and I remember when I bought it a year ago, it was absolutely amazing, the colour was just so natural and I absolutely loved it. But then, I kinda just didn’t wear it for a while and now I really dont like this colour but there’s so much left so I dont want to waste it becayse OPI is quite expensive.

So anyways, I apply one layer of this onto my nails and I know its uneven and streaky but that’s okay. (You can apply two layers if you want, but I don’t like my nails to be really thick so I don’t tend to). But this is the perfect pink base because it’s a very strong true pastel pink colour.

Tip: Let each layer dry completely before painting the next to avoid “gooeyness” after you’re done and to avoid smudging.

Image

This is Princess Rule and this colour is amazing, especially on top of the Suze and the Lifeguard one. It has tiny holographic/silvery glitter in it. It’s such a gorgeous colour and the colour payoff is amazing. Haha.

So I paint one layer of it over the top of Suze and the Lifeguard and it seems to fill in the steaks and gaps of the first layer really well.

Image

This is Teenage Dream from the Katy Perry Collection. And I absolutely love this polish. It’s really chunky and the glitter just looks really good on the nail because of its different glitter particle sizes.

This is the “hardest” part. You basically layer on on top of the first two layers so that more of the glitter is concentrated to the end. So in essence you do only half a nail and you just gradient the glitter to create the ombre effect.

Image

You have to wait for the Teenage Dream to completely dry before you progress to this step. This is the OPI RapiDry TopCoat and I love it because I previously am way too impatient and not-bothered to wait for the traditional Top Coat to dry which meant I always messed it up so this RapiDry is SO SO SO much better. However, a disadvantage is that it’s thinner and doesn’t give the shine.

Apply 2 coats of this Top Coat, but if you’re using the regular one, just apply one coat.

Image

THIS IS THE FINISHED PRODUCT.

7 thoughts on “COTTON CANDY: Pink Ombre Glitter Nail Tutorial

  1. Dear lovely beauty blogger,

    Do you think this would work with really light pastel blue base, and gold glitter for the tips? Or are the colours too different? ❤

    • I think that is a really great combo. Blue and “yellow” (or gold) are complementary colours and work really well together. This colour mixing thing is really in right now, so yes, that would be a good idea. However, keep in mind that if you like your nails to look “perfect” or such, its a lot harder is colours that don’t blend into each other.

      Love, Roxie

  2. Pingback: A Little Bit Obsessed: Nail Polish Tag | Parisien Nights, Parisien Lights

Leave a comment