Off With The Makeup: How to Remove Makeup Properly

Image

You know the number one makeup rule is never to sleep with your makeup on, right? Well, it’s not an easy job. The make-up-removing process is always on that requires that little extra effort that some so many just cannot be bothered to exert at the end of a really long and tiresome day but I can guarantee that removing all your makeup at the end of the day will be so unbelievably beneficial for your skin.

Face

  • Face Wipes. These easy and magical things are not as evil as so many people claim. Just make sure that when you use them, you’re using a good and effective one and use more than one sheet. Also make sure that you purchase one for a good skincare brand that actually dissolves the makeup. I recommending using 1 for your cheeks, 1 for your forehead and then all over your face again, and 1 final one for your eye makeup. It’s so quick and easy. However, there are so many ways to remove makeup.
  • Cleansing Milks/Oils. These are considered far far better because they’re believed to have a better formula. Because everyone’s skin is different, I find it difficult to recommend one but I do love the MAC removing oils/milks. Just try your favorite skin care brand and the sales lady will usually refer you to a pretty good one. When buying it for the first time, try and get a sample or a smaller bottle just in case. Once you found one that doesnt leave an oily film, make you break out or leave residue on your face, you’ve found the perfect one.
  • Now in comparison: I personally can’t say which one I ultimately prefer up for the face wipes the MAC Makeup Remover wipes are amazing because they actually have the same formula as their bottled product. I just like these more because I then don’t have to use a separate cotton pad/wipes (annoying…) or my fingers (which are potentially dirty).
  • Double cleansing. Always double cleanse when removing makeup. There’ll always be something that could potentially cause problems, especially to people with problem skin like me.  

Eyes, Lips and Cheeks

  • Waterproof makeup. I find waterproof makeup so hard to remove. It gets to be SUCH a hassle. I honestly don’t know what else to recommend but waterproof makeup removers. When removing eye makeup, just rest it on the eyes for a few seconds, and then pull downwards and outwards. This will help your lashes grow longer and healthier.
  • Non-waterproof makeup. For non waterproof makeup, any makeup remover will do, to be honest. 

My Recommendations

For both waterproof and non-waterproof makeup, I honestly think that the MAC makeup removers are the best ones I’ve used. Because I have very sensitive eyes and acne-prone oily skin, it’s hard for me to find something that works so well.  The MAC Cleanse-Off Oil is an amazing product that you can just use to wash off your whole face and even though it is an oil, it does not break me out and it does not affect my eyes. It removes everything so so well. 

Another very cheap and easy alternative is baby oil. Maybe makeup gurus (like the MakeUpChair on YouTube) holds the baby oil as their chief method. Personally, I don’t trust it as much because it feels as if it’s not as good as the brand ones.

Disclaimer: This is just my opinion and I am in no way a professional. This is not a sponsored post and all products mentioned were tried and bought by myself.

Does anyone else have something to add, or want to share their makeup removing experiences and tips? What is your holy grail remover?

So that is all for this post.

Thanks so much for reading and see you tomorrow

Like, Comment, Follow

Find Passion Think Chic

15 thoughts on “Off With The Makeup: How to Remove Makeup Properly

  1. What do you think of micellar waters? I recently used one and it was really light and left my skin nice and fresh, not oily at all. But are they actually good for your skin? x

    • Well I’ve never used them before but I’m sure that you can find stuff on them online. 🙂 But keep me posted on how it goes because I’m curious to know.

  2. Oh, thanks for this post! I neeever use make up remover – I’ve always just trusted that my face wash does the trick (I know, it doesn’t). I use Avon’s extra lasting mascara and oh my god that stuff does NOT come off. I really need to find a fabulous eye make up remover for that stuff because sometimes it feels like it’s on my lashes for DAYS.

    • I totally know what that’s like. It’s so damn annoying which is why I’ve slowly begun trying to find non-waterproof mascara that can work as well. Try using the Helena Rubinstein All Mascaras!!! Makeup Remover. I have used it and it worked really well for me. Removing mascara is so important for nice lashes. 🙂
      (I’m glad you liked the post. Thanks.)

Leave a Reply

