Can I Hide Behind My Hair Forever?

Hey guys. So today’s post is going to be slightly different than usual in that it’s not a review on a specific product at all, it’s not a “routine” post, or a tutorial. I’ll be talking about my experiences with my skin. And trust me, they’re not very good experiences overall.

Some of my skin background: I had really amazing skin (as all kids do) up until I was around 10 years old. Then I hit puberty and my skin was like a complete hell hole. I suffer from quite bad acne and I used to break out very very badly all the time. It just never stopped, when one patch got better, another sprung up and it was absolutely horrific. It was mainly concentrated on my forehead: all across it, but sometimes it goes near my mouth and nose.

I was literally horrified! What was happening to me? I mean, all the stories I’ve ever heard did not prepare me for this. I mean I remember that all through 5th and 6th grade and then early high school, I just got these really nasty comments from (let’s be frank here) b*tches at my school and honestly, I felt as if I’ve tried everything. But I’ve now realised that it’s distinctly hormonal acne. Now that I’m past that awful stage of just early puberty and early adolescence and stuff, my skin is starting to get better. But I still break out really badly about once a month (we all know when that is) and then just some spots here and there during the middle of my cycle.

Some of the products I’ve used (not all because I don’t remember them all):

– Proactive: Now proactive was so hyped up for so many years and as soon as it up there, my mom went out and bought it for me. I used it so much for, I think, a year and it was working okay. I didn’t really solve many problems but it was better than nothing but after a while, it just stopped doing it for me and I just stopped using it.

– For about a year I just jumped from product to product but some I clearly remember is: Clearasil Deep Cleansing Scrub, Clean and Clear Acne cleanser and Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisturizer 

– I use the infamous Clinque set for about 6 months and then I just didn’t feel as if anything was happening so that stopped too.

– Most recently I used Origins. Now I’m in love with this brand. It’s amazing and has had amazing effects on my skin but the lady at the counter kept pushing this one skin care set after I went back after success with their masks and Spot Removal serum (review for another time) and I absolutely HATE that set. It was awful. I used it for 4 months (since late Dec last year) and I’m just so over it.

So I’m looking to try something new. Maybe a mixture of things. Things that I love are the Clinique set (which I’ve gone back to), the Origins mask set and spot removal cream.

A huge problem of mine is that nothing ever seems to eliminate my issue completely so I just give up on things after an extended period of time because I feel as if it’s not fixing my problem. I also want to avoid too much chemical on my face so that rules out a lot of things. I also have an issue with hyperpigmentation now because a lot of places that had repeat spotting hare quite harsh scars.

So basically what I’m trying to say is that those who suffer from acne, you’re definitely now alone. And after god knows how many years, I still suffer from hormonal acne but it does get better. Gradually. I think. And please leave down in the comments any products that you’ve used and have found helpful.

Like, Comment, Follow

Thanks for reading and see you tomorrow.

Find Passion. Think Chic.

2 thoughts on “Can I Hide Behind My Hair Forever?

  1. Pingback: IT’S CLEARING UP!!!: My Skincare Routine | Parisien Nights, Parisien Lights

  2. Pingback: Technologic! My Clarisonic Review | Parisien Nights, Parisien Lights

Leave a Reply

